-By Dr. A Pranesh

Jogulamba Temple - Alampur

Alampur is a temple town, located 27 kms from Kurnool, enroute to Hyderabad. It is about 200 kms from Hyderabad.

Alampur is referred to Dakshina Kashi as it is the confluence (sangam) of the rivers Krishna and Thungabhadra, and also known as Nava Brahmeshwara theertha. Alampur is amidist Nallamalla hills and is on the left bank of river Thungabhadra. This is the western gateway to Srisailam.

The principal deity is Bala Brahameshwara and Devi is Jogulamba. Alampur was ruled by Shatavahana Ishvakus of Nagarjuna konda, Badami Chalukyas, Rashtrakutas, Kalyani Chalukyas, Kakatiyas, Vijayanagar emporers and Qutub Shahis of Golconda.

Balabrahmeshwar Swamy Temple Complex Balabrahmeshwar Swamy Temple

Name of Alampur was Halampur, mentioned in the inscription dated 1101 AD belonging to western Chalukya Tribhuvanamalla Vikramadithya VI.

Jogulamba temple

Jogulamba also known as Yogulamba or Yogamba is considered as one of the 18 Shakti peethas of India. Devi’s upper jaw along with teeth (oordhva danta pankti ) seems to have fallen here. Her consort is Bala Brahameshwara Swamy.

Jogulamba Temple

The ancient temple of Jogulamba was destroyed by Bahamani sultans in 14th century. Idols of Jogulamba and her two shaktis- Chandi and Mundi, were placed in Bala Brahmeshwara swamy’s temple. In 2005, a new temple was built and the goddess was relocated to the new temple which was built on the old destroyed site. The original idols of Chandi and Mundi are still placed in Balabrhamaeshwara Swamy temple but new idols of Chandi and Mundi are placed in the newly built temple.

The Jogulamba is in ugra rupa (terrible form) and there is a water pond close by which is supposed to cool her. Devi is in sitting posture with plenty of hairs (mukta keshi), with lizards, scorpions, bats and human skull in it. Idols of Sapta Matrikas, Vigneshwara and Veena pani Veerabhadra are also present in the temple complex.

Nava Brahma temples

Nava Brahma Temple

As the name indicates, there are nine temples dedicated to lord Shiva. These temples date back to 7th century AD, built by Badami Chalukyas, who were great patrons of art and culture.

Nava Brahma Temple Nava Brahma Temple

The Nava Brahma temples are situated on the left bank of river Tungabhadra:


  1. Taraka Brahma temple dates back to 7th century AD as per the inscriptions in the temple.
  2. Swarga Brahma temple, built during 681-696 AD by Lokaditya Ela Arasa for his queen Vinayaditya as per the inscription. Amidst the nine this temple is richly ornamented.
  3. Parama Brahma temple has a polished stone of Shiva linga.
  4. Bala Brahma temple dates back to 702 AD. It is the main shrine of worship
  5. Vishwa Brahma temple has scriptural scenes of epics
  6. Garuda Brahma temple
  7. Kumara Brahma temple
  8. Aria Brahma temple
  9. Vira Brahma temple

There are other temples like Suryanarayana temple dating back to 9th century. Narasimha temple has inscriptions belonging to Sri Krishnadevaraya of Vijayanagar dynasty.-